Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: New laptop required  (Read 6912 times)
The Grim Reaper

Ignore
« on: Sunday, October 11, 2020, 10:07:41 »

Appealing to the town end faithful. Just after a simple laptop for watching the games on iFollow, nothing fancy. Screen size about 15”. Current laptop is about 11 years old and despite wiping clean it’s as slow as fuck. Took me 40 mins from switch on to get to watch kick off! Anyone can point me in the right direction and what I need to be looking to spend would be great 👍
Peter Venkman
We don't need no stinking badges.

Back Off Man, I’m A Scientist.

« Reply #1 on: Sunday, October 11, 2020, 10:16:48 »

If the lappy itself still does all you need it to do but slowly then buy a cheap SSD £25 fit it and do a fresh windows 10 install, save yourself some money, also maybe upgrade the memory if you can, 4gb sticks are about £20.

Only a fool does not know when to hold his tongue.
Chubbs

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: Sunday, October 11, 2020, 10:31:43 »

If the lappy itself still does all you need it to do but slowly then buy a cheap SSD £25 fit it and do a fresh windows 10 install, save yourself some money, also maybe upgrade the memory if you can, 4gb sticks are about £20.

My concern at 11 years old would be a dates processor, but yes, as Peter says, if the load isn't too taxing you could probably get it up and running to a decent standard for between 50-100 quid.
Peter Venkman

« Reply #3 on: Sunday, October 11, 2020, 10:38:49 »

Yes if its just surfing the net and word processing then an old processor won't be much slower than a brand new intel celery processor.

Also brand new "cheap" laptops are like rocking horse shit at the moment because so many students and workers have got them for working from home so the supply is limited and pricey.

Jimmy HaveHave

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: Sunday, October 11, 2020, 10:45:17 »