Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Smoke Alarms  (Read 854 times)
4D

Offline Offline

Posts: 15137


I am real




Ignore
« on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 10:13:35 »

I have 3 smoke alarms in the house, they are fairly modern and are connected to the mains with 9v battery back up. They send out a chirp when the battery needs replacing.  So at 6am this morning the upstairs one went off on fill alarm for about 2 seconds, so I replaced the battery in it. I have just pressed the test button of the one I  the dining room and it helped but the one in the hallway went off for around 2 seconds. So, I went to the hallway one and pressed test, nothing happened. I pressed test on the one upstairs, again nothing. The one in the dining room has a green light but the other two have a green and red light, even the one that I replaced with a new battery. Am I supposed to do  a reset or something? I thought it should just be a battery swap, job done.
Logged
Simon Pieman
Original Wanker

Offline Offline

Posts: 36267




« Reply #1 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:00:13 »

How old are they? Have you checked the expiry date as they are usually designed to stop working after 10 years
Logged
Batch
Not a Batch

Offline Offline

Posts: 43510





Ignore
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:02:26 »

got a make and model to Google?
Logged
4D

Offline Offline

Posts: 15137


I am real




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:18:00 »

Good until 2027, only 3 years old. No make or model number  Roll Eyes Might be "ei".
Logged
Batch
Not a Batch

Offline Offline

Posts: 43510





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:30:49 »

press the button for > 10 seconds?
Logged
tans
You spin me right round baby right round

Offline Offline

Posts: 21195





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:33:54 »

Yea, hold the button down for 10 seconds or so and it will set the whole system. Failing that smack it with a shovel.

Bain of my life these things were a couple of years back in my old job.
Logged
Batch
Not a Batch

Offline Offline

Posts: 43510





Ignore
« Reply #6 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:35:33 »

also, in the instructions I read it said replace the battery with the mains off (is it on a breaker that you can flick?)

also, are they interconnected?
Logged
tans
You spin me right round baby right round

Offline Offline

Posts: 21195





Ignore
« Reply #7 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 11:36:30 »

https://www.safelincs.co.uk/help-to-resolve-beeping-ei-aico-alarms/
Logged
4D

Offline Offline

Posts: 15137


I am real




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 12:06:36 »

Thanks all. I think they are interconnected. Ok, I have replaced the battery in one without switching the trip switch off  Roll Eyes. What do I do now? As you said tans, do I press the button  on just one for ten seconds or each one?
They do a great job but they are very confusing.

I had a house alarm go off once during a power cut because the back up battery was dead. One neighbour came around after half an hour of the alarm going off to ask " can't you switch that off? " Of course, I just left it ringing to annoy you  Doh
Logged
tans
You spin me right round baby right round

Offline Offline

Posts: 21195





Ignore
« Reply #9 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 12:09:11 »

Id do it on each one to be honest, just to make sure that they all set the others off etc
Logged
Batch
Not a Batch

Offline Offline

Posts: 43510





Ignore
« Reply #10 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 12:12:19 »

^^ sound the working one, then within 2 mins hold the button in on the non working one for 10 seconds.

no idea if it will work, worth a try
Logged
Batch
Not a Batch

Offline Offline

Posts: 43510





Ignore
« Reply #11 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 20:19:12 »

so, did you fix it?
Logged
Richie Wellen-Dowd

« Reply #12 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 20:29:39 »

I have 3 smoke alarms in the house, they are fairly modern and are connected to the mains with 9v battery back up. They send out a chirp when the battery needs replacing.  So at 6am this morning the upstairs one went off on fill alarm for about 2 seconds, so I replaced the battery in it. I have just pressed the test button of the one I  the dining room and it helped but the one in the hallway went off for around 2 seconds. So, I went to the hallway one and pressed test, nothing happened. I pressed test on the one upstairs, again nothing. The one in the dining room has a green light but the other two have a green and red light, even the one that I replaced with a new battery. Am I supposed to do  a reset or something? I thought it should just be a battery swap, job done.

Don't quite get what's happened there but you didn't need to change the battery. A low battery wouldn't have set the alarm off and it won't really run out unless your power is off for a significant amount of time.

Mine started going off randomly a while back, including in the middle of the night cue me running bollock naked and panicked to the landing. I had to work out which unit was malfunctioning by process of elimination and replace it.
Logged
4D

Offline Offline

Posts: 15137


I am real




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 21:42:03 »

so, did you fix it?

Well, it's been quiet all day  Smiley
Logged
bamboonoshop

Offline Offline

Posts: 6273


Fufflin' Reathers




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: Wednesday, August 19, 2020, 22:37:09 »

Isn't there also a common issue with humidity and alarms too. I know in an place I used to live, if it got to humid the alarms would set off. No danger in my current place, I have a cellar below and the temp in my place never gets above bloody 19 (even with heating on). Mind you, the building is about 400 years old.
Logged

We Are Sheridan's (temporary) Red & White Army
WAS(t)RAWA ESS TEE EFF SEE WAS(t)RAWA
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: