Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Trains  (Read 925 times)
The Artist Formerly Known as Audrey

?Absolute Calamity!?

Ignore
« on: Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 09:08:23 »

Having not used a train for years I can’t believe the price of a return Chippenham to Paddington is £115 - not peak.

It’s only £70 from Maastricht! I’ve looked at split tickets but to no avail.

If they want people off the roads give them a credible alternative.
Sippo
Living in the 80s

I ain't gettin on no plane fool

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 09:11:42 »

Swindon to Paddington return is £35. Must be going first class.

If my calculations are correct, when this baby hits 88 miles per hour, you're gonna see some serious shit...
Peter Venkman
We don't need no stinking badges.

Back Off Man, I’m A Scientist.

« Reply #2 on: Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 09:12:48 »

Having not used a train for years I can’t believe the price of a return Chippenham to Paddington is £115 - not peak.

It’s only £70 from Maastricht! I’ve looked at split tickets but to no avail.

If they want people off the roads give them a credible alternative.
£63 if booked a week in advance on trainline and pick and choose the time and day to get best benefit.

Only a fool does not know when to hold his tongue.
Bob's Orange
Has brain escape barriers

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday, June 14, 2023, 09:18:28 »

I think if you have a railcard you also can save up to 1/3 off the return journey. It is possibly more on a fogeys one.

I go into London twice a week for work and an anytime flexible return ticket is £73. As I get the same trains each time, buying singles way in advance costs £42. I only just realised this week I could buy a railcard for £30 and it reduces the cost of the journey down to £35. I wish i'd done that earlier as the savings are basically paid off in 2 weeks travel!

we've been to Aberdeen, we hate the Hibs, they make us spew up, so make some noise,
the gorgie boys, for Hearts in Europe.
4D