Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Cashing an old pension policy  (Read 3233 times)
4D
Or not 4D that is the question

I can't bear it 🙄

Ignore
« on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 18:53:33 »

I have an old pension fund that has not been used for 15 years. Does anyone have a rough idea how much it would be worth if I cashed in on it? As a percentage of the value?
Ta.
Bogus Dave
Ate my own dick

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 18:56:13 »

I'm not an expert, but how are people supposed to know, despite the extensive information given

Things get better but they never get good
@MacPhlea

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 18:58:40 »

I'm not a Financial Advisor but I don't think you can just 'cash in' a pension plan unless you are over 50... If you have another pension why not just transfer it into that? I've just consolidated 3 plans into one with Hargreaves Lansdown SIPP and now have complete control over where it is invested.

On a side, my other half had a pension plan that hadn't been used for a similar period of time and the management fees paid over the period meant it was worthless and was closed out...
« Last Edit: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 19:14:08 by @MacPhlea » Logged

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 19:02:05 »

I'm not an expert, but how are people supposed to know, despite the extensive information given
   Clap
4D

I can't bear it 🙄

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 19:02:34 »

Hmmm, I always thought that an offer could be made on a fund value  
I could transfer it but I wouldn't mind a bit if cash now. I'm not quite 50 yet.  Cool
« Last Edit: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 19:07:58 by 4D » Logged
4D

I can't bear it 🙄

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: Wednesday, March 27, 2013, 19:05:35 »

Thanks Dave, but I was hoping that samdy was reading this. It could be a rough rule of thumb that you are offered e.g. 50% of the current fund value.
@MacPhlea

Ignore