Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Second-hand car advice  (Read 3516 times)
Red Frog
Not a Dave

Pondlife

Ignore
« on: Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 10:19:20 »

OK TEF, I need some wisdom from those of you who know your big end from your camshaft. My old car's given up the ghost, so this could be an opportunity for me to get a car I've always dreamed of - a 2008 third-generation Saab 9.3 petrol/bioethanol hybrid with 53k miles on the clock. I know that parts and servicing would cost rather more than a current production make and model, but I figure I'd be compensating by making a good saving on using biofuel. Does anyone have any insights as to why this might be a bad, or even a good, idea?

Tout ce que je sais de plus sûr à propos de la moralité et des obligations des hommes, c'est au football que je le dois. - Albert Camus
Peter Venkman
We don't need no stinking badges.

Back Off Man, I’m A Scientist.

« Reply #1 on: Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 10:49:34 »

Just a few points, can you get bioethanol easily close to where you live? if not then the cost of going a distance to top the car up could negate any financial gain of cheaper fuel.

How much cheaper is bioethanol where you live? will it make THAT much difference to your running costs?

Often with biofuels you have to run on a mixture of petrol/bioethanol, some can run purely on bio but some you have to mix, will that be feasible?

Insurance costs for biofuel cars are often higher because if you make a claim then if the injector system gets damaged  it is often pricey to replace.

If its purely fuel costs then maybe get a 2nd hand diesel which would be a lot cheaper to run but are being phased out and with some cities not allowing them on the roads could be an issue.
« Last Edit: Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 10:52:12 by Peter Venkman » Logged

Only a fool does not know when to hold his tongue.
horlock07

Lives in Northern Bastard Outpost

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 10:51:02 »