Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Macclesfield Town - Preview  (Read 3286 times)
Peter Venkman
We don't need no stinking badges.

Back Off Man, I’m A Scientist.

« on: Friday, August 3, 2018, 15:29:09 »

I thought I would have a quick preview of tomorrows opponents, having trawled through their Twitter feeds and forums to give a brief preview and insight of our 1st opponents of the season. Apologies if there are any glaring mistakes but I rushed it through a bit.

Pre season results -

Ashton 1-5 Macc
Altrincham 1-0 Macc
Macc 0-2 Burnley
Macc 1-1 Wrexham
Stockport 1-1 Macc
Macc 1 -0 Wolves U23

Harry Smith scored 4 goals in their 5 game pre season.

Smith is of course well known to Town fans for his bried loan spell last season when he scored 3 times in his 19 games, half of those coming off the bench until his illness cut short his spell and he was well liked by most Town fans.

Another ex Town player there is Michael Rose who is as disliked by Town fans as Smith is liked by them. Rose never settled at Swindon and commuted from his home in Manchester, that, Danny Wilson said contributed to his poor form as he made several costly mistakes for Swindon including a sending off in his 41 games in the 2010-11 season, culminating in a dispute with fans on Twitter, then having his contract terminated at the end of the season.

Mark Yates and Neil Howarth (assistant) arrived the end of June to replace outgoing manager John Askey who left for Shrewsbury after winning the Conference by 10 clear points. Macclesfield return to the league after 5 seasons in the Conference.

Scott Wilson was their leading scorer last season with 16 goals, they have kept the nucleus of the side that gained them the championship last season.

Macclesfield Summer transfer dealings
12 new players In -
Miles Welch-Hayes (defender) [Bath - Undisclosed]
Nathan Blissett (striker) [Plymouth - Free]
Ben Stephens (striker) [Stratford - Undisclosed]
Jamie Grimes (defender) [Unattached]