Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Dave Mackay  (Read 14660 times)
ronnie21

The Mighty Hankerton

Ignore
« on: Monday, March 2, 2015, 22:48:49 »

Heard he had died!
NZrobin

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 01:14:40 »

Sad to hear this news as with anyone dying..

Suggest when being part of STFC It was not his finest hour.

RIP
Red and Proud

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 07:27:33 »

Minutes silence/applause tonight?
Costanza

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 07:33:24 »

His Swindon tenure wasn't a good but regardless he's a part of Town's footballing history. Farewell Dave Mackay.

Peter Venkman
We don't need no stinking badges.

Back Off Man, I’m A Scientist.

« Reply #4 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 08:14:21 »

RIP to one of the British footballing greats.

Even if he didn't achieve much with the Town we were his initial stepping stone to greater things in management, which included winning the old top flight in 74-75 only 2 years after leaving us.

Only a fool does not know when to hold his tongue.
Abrahammer

A legitimate dude sighting

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 08:23:22 »

Minutes silence/applause tonight?

I should bloody hope so.

These things are done too often these days in general but in this case it should be a no brainer
Posh Red
Posh by name, Posh by nature

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 08:32:42 »

A much more positive response on here than I expected for a man that was despised by Town fans when he left. I guess time is a great healer
Ardiles

Stirlingshire Reds

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: Tuesday, March 3, 2015, 08:39:13 »

A much more positive response on here than I expected for a man that was despised by Town fans when he left. I guess time is a great healer

I tend to agree.  I hope he rests in peace, and respect what he achieved in the game.  But his legacy at Swindon was toxic - so a minute's silence at the County Ground would feel a little out of place to me.