Thetownend.com

Non-Footy Forum => Computer & Technology => Topic started by: Nomoreheroes on Monday, June 22, 2020, 11:13:22



Title: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: Nomoreheroes on Monday, June 22, 2020, 11:13:22
I want to run a single monitor, keyboard and mouse to switch between my Windows PC and a Macbook Pro.

I assume the way to do this is through a KVM switch?

I've been looking, but am not sure what to get.

Likely to be  this monitor:
https://www.ebuyer.com/755740-acer-ka270h-27-full-hd-monitor-um-hx3ee-a01

Currently have a wired mouse and keyboard.

Which KVM switch do I get?

Assume I'll need a thunderbolt to HDMI adapter too.

Anyone done something similar and have recommendations?


Title: Re: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: Barry Scott on Monday, June 22, 2020, 11:38:24
If your monitor has 2 inputs then you can just choose which source to display with the options on the monitor.

I have a monitor connected to my pc and do the same with my mbp and an hdmi out, although did use a thunderbolt adapter on my old mbp. One dvi in and the other vga in.

I think it might actually auto-select its own input source if only one if them is turned on, but I suspect this might be monitor dependant.

Edit: Ah, completely over looks the keyboard and mouse part.  ::)

Regarding the keyboard and mouse you could get a wireless one and switch the dongle, or maybe even a bluetooth set.


Title: Re: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: Chubbs on Monday, June 22, 2020, 13:23:32
I prefer 2 girls 1 cup personally .


Title: Re: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: pauld on Monday, June 22, 2020, 13:45:08
I've been using one of these:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07GYM5K7R

Not the cheapest but does the job well and I've had a lot of faff with cheaper units in the past


Title: Re: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: Hitchinred on Monday, June 22, 2020, 15:42:31
I have an HP All in one with an HDMI in connector. I connect my work Laptop to this and Shift-Ctrl-S-D together toggles between the two.


Title: Re: One Monitor Two Inputs
Post by: Nomoreheroes on Tuesday, June 23, 2020, 05:39:32
Thanks Guys.

I had been looking at this:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B083TC68VQ/ref=sspa_dk_detail_2?spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUFXRzE0UTdHRUhZR1QmZW5jcnlwdGVkSWQ9QTAyODIyNTRFSEROR1NJWEIwREsmZW5jcnlwdGVkQWRJZD1BMDk2OTUzOUlTQkpCSDlFMzg1OCZ3aWRnZXROYW1lPXNwX2RldGFpbDImYWN0aW9uPWNsaWNrUmVkaXJlY3QmZG9Ob3RMb2dDbGljaz10cnVl&th=1

Haven't looked at Thunderbolt adapters. Going to head into work and see whether there are any floating around in the IT department.